Bookmark and Share

Meet first-year student Max Lustick, MSOT/S '16

10/20/2014

Max Lustick, MSOT/S '16, from St. Louis, MO 

Why did you choose the degree program you did? (MSOT, OTD, etc.)
I chose the MSOT degree because I want to focus on clinical work rather than research or teaching. I can complete the program in less time and still work in my desired settings.

What brought you to OT and what do you want to do with your degree?
I was attracted to the field of occupational therapy because my experience in behavioral medicine reinforced the importance of helping others to become independent of hospital care rather than depend on inpatient services for their fundamental needs.

What do you like best about your classmates?
When I came to class on the first day, I was struck by how excited and optimistic my classmates were.

What story does your family frequently tell about you?

Years ago, I went on a bus tour with my grandparents from Springfield, Mo., to Pikes Peak in Colo. On the way, we stopped at a canyon where I leapt down to a lower ledge to look down at the canyon floor. I returned to the parking lot to find a busload of senior citizens scrabbling about, screaming about “the boy." Apparently, someone had been watching me and they were all under the impression that I had just leapt to my death. My grandparents never let me live that down.

Tell us about something you are involved in (or were) and how it’s changed you?
During my experience in behavioral health, I discovered a desire to help others and the work challenged me in a way that promoted the improvement of many clinically relevant character traits that will serve me well as an OT.

What is something you learned in the last week?

I learned how to properly transfer patients with a variety of functional disabilities in different situations.

What word describes you best?
Sympathetic.

Tell us something about yourself that otherwise we wouldn’t know or guess.
I have run a mile in four minutes and 16 seconds. This may have something to do with running track and cross country for ten years.

Are you working and/or volunteering in addition to taking classes? If so, where?
I work at St. Mary’s in the behavioral health unit. I also work as a personal care assistant for a man with muscular dystrophy.

US News Report, Best Grad Schools